Flash fiction (a hundred words or fewer) #3: Slimepit

When I found myself watching the latest camera-phone video showing that latest pop strumpet’s latest drunken altercation at the latest hot L.A. nightspot, I knew I’d grown old, knew I’d aged out of the snarky pop-cultural slimepit due to my having exerted actual effort to avoid aging out—and worse, due to my showing actual sympathy for that spoiled, vacuous strumpet, who would likely enter rehab and spend the rest of her career starring in cheap, purposely-campy, sci-fi cable movies that reference her past debauchery, permitting her to continue earning far more that I, the more-or-less lifelong teatotaller, do.

* * * * *

(Written on the spot)

Copyright © 2015 David V. Matthews

Leave a Reply

