Flash fiction (a hundred words or fewer) #2: Ornithology Versus Etymology

“Hey, an Eastern bluebird,” I announced as I sat alone on my patio.  My first wife was an amateur ornithologist.  Whenever we saw a bird, she’d go into detail about it sweetly but a little pedantically.  She knew almost everything about almost every bird.  I could still remember some of what she’d told me.  The bluebird walking near my patio was female—grayish-blue on top, orangish-brown on the chest.  I hadn’t seen my ex since the divorce twelve years ago.  “Hey, ‘bird’ is old British slang for ‘girl,’ ” I added, wishing my etymological knowledge could save me from loneliness.

Copyright © 2015 David V. Matthews

Leave a Reply

